INSTALLING ORACLE ENTERPRISE MANAGER ON WINDOWS 7 64 BIT

Hopefully this will help me later if I have to do this again.   Currently Oracle OEM Grid 11.1 is 32 bit – something hopefully Oracle will fix soon.  Which means that installations on 64 bit  Windows OS are not supported.   This is, in my opinion, a bad mistake on Oracle’s part but they have yet to call me for my business sense.  For me, this meant having to install on an older hardware that is already hitting the limits of it resources, to do a 32 bit install.   Other option was to take a 64 bit machine and install a 32 bit OS.  Neither were acceptable from a performance standpoint or common sense.

But I am venting . I have tried this configuration in multiple configurations.

Comprise is to install on 64 bit Windows using a 32 bit database and (required ) listener.

The Items needed :

I pray that I will not have to repeat this process myself.  And I hope this is helpful to someone somewhere currently beating their head against the wall with Oracle Support.Install the RDBMS
Update PATH if needed to ensure that the 32bit Oracle Home is the 1st Oracle Home found.
Build a database using 32bit Oracle Home (dbca if you are lazy :).
Create a named listener (I did this to keep a 64 bit database running)
Install the OEM Grid using the 32bit Database as the repository.

Should install without issue.   While this is basic – it is only meant for me anyways – but hope this will help the next person pulling out their hair while talking to Oracle Support.

About wallfodder

Database Admin Jack of all trades.
This entry was posted in Oracle, Windows. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to INSTALLING ORACLE ENTERPRISE MANAGER ON WINDOWS 7 64 BIT

  1. sj says:

    Thanks. Helpful Info

Leave a Reply

